Osasuna loses against Sevilla (0-2)

Goals from Diego Carlos and De Jong defeated the red team.


22/02/2021 23:23

Osasuna was unable to beat Sevilla, who imposed their dominance in the match played at El Sadar. Oier sent a ball against the post in one of the first actions of the match, but, after a good start, Julen Lopetegui's men took control of the game. Before the twenty-minute mark, Diego Carlos headed home a corner kick from Jordán and, in the second half, the Andalusians put a stop to any rojillo attempt to equalize with a goal from De Jong.

Jagoba Arrasate's men came out at El Sadar with the aim of extending the team's good run of results. Three minutes into the game, Rubén García put in a superb cross to the head of Oier, who arrived from the second line. The Navarre-born captain's shot hit the crossbar and flew wide. After a good start from the home side, Sevilla took possession of the ball, began to impose their rhythm and started to threaten the goal of S. Herrera, who had to intervene against a powerful shot from Munir. In the nineteenth minute, Jordán took a measured corner to the head of Diego Carlos, who beat everyone in the area and headed well into the net.

De Jong made it two minutes into the second half.

The 0-1 scoreline boosted the performance of a Sevilla who defended with the ball and nullified all the attempts of an Osasuna side who in the final stretch of the first half was successful in their pressure, although Bono did not have to intervene before the break. After half-time, Julen Lopetegui's men struck again. Three minutes into the second half, Munir sent a low cross into the box and De Jong, with a subtle touch, beat S. Herrera to make it 0-2.

Despite the difference on the scoreboard, Jagoba Arrasate's men did not give up at any time and insisted on a goal that did not come because of the good defensive work of a Sevilla team that stayed in their own half, defended well, slowed down the pace when they had possession and looked for the third on the counter-attack, although the scoreboard did not move again. Osasuna is now thirteenth in the table with twenty-five points, four above the relegation places. Osasuna's next league fixture will be on Saturday 27 February at 18:30 in Mendizorroza against Deportivo Alavés.

J24 LaLiga Santander

0-2 Go Live
  • S. Herrera
  • Manuel Sánchez
  • Aridane
  • Nacho Vidal (79')
  • David García
  • Jon Moncayola
  • Oier (64')
  • Lucas Torró
  • Kike Barja (63')
  • Ante Budimir (83')
  • Rubén García (63')


  • Juan Pérez
  • Calleri (64')
  • Adrián (84')
  • Ramalho
  • Javi Martínez
  • R. Torres (64')
  • Juan Cruz
  • Iñigo Pérez (80')
  • Darko (65')
  • Unai García
  • Enric Gallego
  • Bono
  • J. Navas
  • Karim Rekik
  • Jules Koundé
  • Diego Carlos
  • Jordán (86')
  • Fernando
  • Óliver (65')
  • Luuk de Jong (79')
  • Suso (65')
  • Munir (79')


  • I. Rakitić (66')
  • Javier Díaz
  • Vázquez
  • Youssef En-Nesyri (80')
  • Alejandro Gomez (80')
  • Nemanja Gudelj (87')
  • Óscar
  • Tomáš Vaclík
  • Sergi Gómez
  • Gnagnon
  • Aleix Vidal (66')
  • Escudero


Estadio El Sadar


  • 0-1 (19'). Diego Carlos
  • 0-2 (49'). Luuk de Jong


Javier Alberola Rojas awarded Nacho Vidal (76'), Lucas Torró (88') from CA Osasuna y Munir (67'), Jordán (83') from Sevilla FC.


21 APR

Wednesday 19:00 Estadio El Sadar


Day31 CA Osasuna - Valencia CF

25 APR

Sunday 18:30 Estadio Abanca Balaídos


Day32 RC Celta - CA Osasuna

01 MAY

Saturday 21:00 Estadio Alfredo Di Stéfano


Day34 Real Madrid - CA Osasuna

08 MAY

Saturday 21:00 Estadio San Mamés


Day35 Athletic Club - CA Osasuna

11 MAY

Tuesday 19:00 Estadio El Sadar


Day36 CA Osasuna - Cádiz CF

16 MAY

Sunday Wanda Metropolitano


Day37 Atlético de Madrid - CA Osasuna

23 MAY

Sunday Estadio El Sadar


Day38 CA Osasuna - Real Sociedad

League Table

1 Atlético de Madrid 703121735720
2 Real Madrid 673120745324
3 FC Barcelona 653020556926
4 Sevilla FC 643120474625
5 Villarreal CF 4931121364834
6 Real Betis 4831146114245
7 Real Sociedad 4731121184833
8 Granada CF 3930116133650
9 Levante UD 3831911113844
10 RC Celta 3831911114148
11 Athletic Club 3730910113933
12 CA Osasuna 3731910122736
13 Cádiz CF 363199132745
14 Valencia CF 3531811123944
15 Getafe CF 3131710142234
16 Deportivo Alavés 273169162547
17 SD Huesca 2731512143146
18 Real Valladolid CF 2730512132741
19 Elche CF 2631511152748
20 SD Eibar 2331411162241